.

8001

. .

THIS WEEK : Selma Montford: The hope that the £1bn schemes will all disappear


TALKBOARD : Step Back in Time – A History of the Argus


LATEST IN DIRECTORY : Preston and Patcham Society launches new web platform

.

hove-logo-112

Hove Plinth campaign
Help us bring new sculpture to Hove seafront
Hove Civic Society news release

Hove Civic Society, supported by the Arts Council/National Lottery, issued a call to artists on 20th March 2015 for sculpture proposals for the Hove Plinth. This is the first step towards commissioning a sequence of artworks for the planned new sculpture plinth on the Hove seafront.

The deadline for submissions was 4th May, and the shortlisting team received a high number and high quality of proposals. Ten proposals have now been shortlisted.

The shortlisted artists are: John Atkin FRBS, Matthew James Davies, Pierre Diamantopoulo, Suresh Dutt MRBS, David Harber, Stephanie Rubin and Jonathan Hogg, Roland Stevenson, Jonathan Wright, and April Young.

Read more about the artists (Word, 196KB)
View images of the proposals (PDF, 41.8MB)

The shortlisted ideas will be publicly exhibited to enable people to comment on which sculptures they think should be chosen for commissioning. A display of the proposals will be exhibited at the following locations:

Jubilee Library, Jubilee Street, Brighton (window exhibition area)

Monday 8th June, 10am – 7pm

Tuesday 9th June, 10am – 7pm

Wednesday 10th June, 10am – 5pm

Thursday 11th June, 10am – 7pm

Friday 12th June, closed

Saturday 13th June, 10am – 5pm

Hove Central Library, 182-186 Church Street, Hove

Monday 15th June, 1.30pm – 5.30pm

Tuesday 16th June, 9.30am – 7.30pm

Wednesday 17th June, 9.30am – 5.30pm

Thursday 18th June, 9.30am – 5.30pm

Friday 19th June, 9.30am – 5.30pm

King’s Esplanade, foot of Grand Avenue, Hove (site of the Hove Plinth)

Saturday 20th June, 11am – 7pm

Sunday 21st June, 11am – 7pm

Members of the public will have the opportunity to look at images of the proposed sculptures and read about the design and inspiration behind each, before nominating their three favourites. Taking these views into account, a selection panel will then interview all the shortlisted artists and select the three works intended to become the first in a series of sculptures for the plinth.

The three selected artists from the shortlist will be paid £2,500 each to deliver a maquette and full project description. The maquettes will be used to aid fundraising for the full-scale sculptures, enabling potential funders to visualise the proposed artworks.

facebook